top of page

nine.

So we've been stimulating my ovaries to grow follicles for 7 days now. Seven days of multiple shots in the stomach in hope that I produce follicles that will result in usable eggs.

This morning, I went to the doctor's for my first monitoring ultrasound appointment and the results were disappointing to say the least.

Nine is my least favorite number at the moment. It's the number of follicles that's currently growing inside of me. 40 years old with one ovary are able to produce 9 follicles and no I'm not exaggerating.

Normally, if a woman were to produce 20-30 follicles, (some even produce 40 or more) chances are maybe half will turn out to be matured eggs and even fewer get fertilized and make it to day 5 embryos for implant.

We were told to expect a high follicle count because of my PCOS diagnosis but apparently that didn't help us. I know it's all about quality and not quantity but it's really hard to be hopeful when your follicle counts are so low. It's so discouraging to physically see your body failing you.

There's nothing to do now but to continue the course and play the waiting game until I hear from my doctor this afternoon.

Today is a struggle.


A Splendid Adventure

At first glance it may appear too hard. Look again. Always look again. 
bottom of page